Region of East Macedonia and Thrace


Region of East Macedonia & Thrace (REMTH) is one of the 13 Regions of Greece -which were relatively recently reformed by ‘Kallikratis Project’ (Law 3852/2010)- and is currently regulated by Presidential Decree 144/2010 which describes its structure. REMTH is a Legal Person Governed by Public Law its task is to design and implement policies at the regional level, in accordance with the principles of sustainable development and social cohesion imposed by the State. It is consisted by General Directorates, Directorates and Units. Civil Protection Directorate is one of them, being responsible mainly for the prevention, preparedness, mitigation and restoration of all kinds of disasters by implementing relevant national legislation and managing all kind of private and public means in order to protect the citizens of the Region. CP Directorate is specifically active in European Projects which improve the implementation of the above mentioned policies.